Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Fashion Suggestions Requested

Ccc

New in Town
Thanks to everyone who contributed to developing your own style! I really appreciated reading through the emails.

Now, another question: I am 5'1, somewhat overweight (not a skinny minnie model) and I would really like to begin dressing in the late 1940's, to early 1950's style. Does anyone have suggestions on the best approach to take? What fashion basics would be the best to begin with? What would you absolutely avoid? What type of footwear, especially if I cannot wear high heels?

On the other hand, am I choosing the wrong era to approach, given my body build?

Looking forward to reading your great advice! Thanks!!

Ccc

Rosie

One Too Many
Hi. It all depends on YOUR style. I'm no expert but, I'm 5'9ish, very much an amazon, hourglass shaped, fat/full figured/plus sized, whatever you feel comfortable calling it. I tend to like the styles of the 40s/50s and that is what I wear. I think that the best approach would be to see what you like, try on a few pieces and see what works best with your body type. The hourglass shape, in my opinion looks GREAT in this period of clothing and with the correct tailoring, does great for a fuller figure.

A few basics, again, depending on your style would be some tailored jackets and dresses, some pencil skirts and fitted sweaters, blouses, a few circle skirts and dresses, a few cardigans.

Who do you admire as a style icon?

jitterbugdoll

Call Me a Cab