Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

First Post - Gold Label Brooks Jacket

JohnnyKnuckles

New in Town
Hello FL,

I've been reading and enjoying the forum for a bit of time and thought I'd finally officially sign up and participate.

I'm relatively new to the vintage world of leather jackets but am loving the journey of learning about the history and construction. I ride motorcycles so I'm partial to biker jackets which I own six.

Anyway, I thought I'd post my first true vintage acquisition - a late 60's, early 70's Brooks Cafe Racer jacket. I picked it up off of ebay recently and when it delivered, I almost was knocked off my feet by how bad this jacket smelled of smoke. I don't smoke, am allergic, and so I'm quite sensitive to it. I went through some gentle cleaning using saddle soap for the leather and white vinegar for the interior. I've gotten it clean enough to the point I can finally wear it. In a sentimental kinda way, the smell of it now reminds me of wearing one of my dad's jackets - slightly smoky, slightly clean.

I took the jacket for a spin through the back country roads on my Triumph Bonneville, and wow, this is probably the best jacket I've ever owned for cutting through the wind. There is literally no wind drag, even on the windiest of days. Quite awesome. If you're familiar with riding, you know how uncomfortable it is when your jacket acts like sail.