Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The Flat Head Cafe Racer Fit Opinions

singer

Familiar Face
Hi there, first time poster. I've been looking for a light weight leather jacket that I can wear often in my SF Bay Area climate, and have learned a lot from folks on this forum. I'm a bit new to quality vintage-style leather jackets, and would love to solicit opinions on the fit of this Flat Head jacket.

I went to my local Self Edge intending to try on the brown Flat Head Rider's jacket. They were sold out, so I quickly tried on the Cafe Racer to get a feel for Shinki HH. I dismissed it pretty quickly, because I did not think I could pull off the band collar. But it's growing on me. I did love everything else right away--the brass hardware, the hand warmer pockets with no zippers, the design of the back, and the look and feel of the Shinki leather. Perhaps I'd go with a brown if I had the choice (most of my shoes are brown--does this matter?)

My question for you folks--do you think it fits well? I usually wear a size 38. They said this runs small, and it's a size 40. I don't think I can go smaller because the arms would probably be too short. It was comfortable, not tight, with some room to spare for another layer.

Second, do you think, fit-wise the Himel Frobisher (hat tip to @Superfluous) or the RMC Buco j-100 would be better for fit? (I just might have to get a brown Frobisher in addition anyway...)