Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Which shearling jacket?? D1 or Irvin??

Hendrix

New in Town
This question has probably been asked before, but in any case, here goes: I'm seriously looking for a quality, practical, warm shearling jacket for the coming winter. I love the look of Irvins, but I'm concerned that they may be some what bulky when worn. Presumably the Irvin will be a little warmer than the D1. But the D1 appears to be less 'fussy' and maybe more easily worn. I have no experience with either jacket.

I'd prefer a repro, most likely an ELC.

Any thoughts on which may be more suitable, practically and warmth wise are very much welcomed.

Last edited:

Plumbline

One Too Many
Had a few of both, 7 Irvins ( 2 x originals, which I was always a little aprehensive about wearing, 2 x Aero's, 2 x Eastmans, one WPG) and 4 D-1s ( 2 x Eastmans, 2 x Aero ) ...... of the Irvins the earlier Eastman Irvin was my favourite, very soft yet supple fleece and hide and a nice length. However, for practicallity and everyday usage the D-1 is hard to beat ( again though so long as you can get past the zips on the pockets).

The D-1 is lighter and neater IMHO - still plenty warm - just not as warm as the irvin. This is just MHO .... but the Irvin was too bulky for everyday usage and the lack of pockets to put stuff in ( phone etc. ) was a real pain.

Either way you won't go wrong ........ but for the perfect sheepskin jacket it has to be a ANJ-4 IMHO.

Last edited:

rocketeer

Call Me a Cab
All depends how cold it is. The big 'but' is this, Do you intend to drive in the jacket as they both tend to ruck up at the back but the Irvin is better due to being shorter, though the D1 is less restrictive(as you say).