Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Akubra for Summer?

shodan

New in Town
I want to order an Akubra Fedora, maybe a campdraft. With the wait times listed here it wil be May before I would receive it. I'm new to wearing hats, so my question is this; are these hats ok for summer wearing? I'm in NC, gets pretty warm! Question #2. I don't wear many suits, what is the "proper" style of hat to wear with jeans and khaki pants? Thanks very much!

LordBest

Practically Family
I have been wearing my Federation IV quite happily in temperatures upwards of 40 degrees centigrade (104 and up fahrenheit), and I can not say it is any more or less comfortable than my panama summer hat. Of course, a FedIV is not a campdraft. Dark brown or beige goes quite well with khakis, in my experience, can not say about the jeans as I do not wear denim.

Doctor Strange

I'll Lock Up
You may also want to consider one of Akubra's country hats rather than a fedora. A hat like the Cattleman is only slightly bigger than the Campdraft, but it's unlined and has six ventilation holes. In a light color like Sand (which = Silverbelly), it's a great hot-weather hat.

I've been using my Sand Cattleman for summertime hiking for a couple of years, and have found it to be no warmer than a straw hat - and far more indestructible: it still looks brand new. (And as a bonus, being one of Akubra's bestsellers, it's a stock hat in several colors, so you won't have to wait for months to get one.)

CATLMN1.JPG

True enough, it's definitely not a fedora, and it's designed to retain its factory shpae: it would take some real effort to modify the bash or brim. But it's also not as formal as a fedora, and goes great with jeans/khakis and a T-shirt...

kaosharper1

One Too Many