Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

An invitation to dress down.

db5zx

Familiar Face
Casual vintage

First of all, my apologies to you if this has been discussed before in another thread, but I did a search and couldn't find anything. But then again, I am at work right now and can't spend hours searching through the vast library of invaluable information this forum is.

I would like to know what casual clothing looked like in the late 30's and early 40's. I am working for a company where "business casual" is on the higher end of clothing style (yes, you guessed it, I am a journalist :) ). Now, after almost a year at my company, I finally managed to getting everybody used to me wearing a hat every day. But if I came here in a nice double breasted suit, vest and tie, they would look at me like I finally totally lost my mind.

Still, I would love to dress more vintage than the occasional 1950's suit pants that I wear without looking totally out-of-place. So, what did people in the 1930's and 40's wear when they did not have to wear a double breasted suit and tie?

Thanks!

Jens

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
Gab shirts, sometimes jeans and more casual gab trousers. plaid shirts were pretty in. you see the occasional stripey t-shirt on the younger set that is playing around the house.

sweaters and collars on shirts spread.

Wide legged jeans with 5 to 6 inches of cuff showing. root has more input from here.

19353-vi.jpg

Feraud

Bartender
There is such thing as "dressing down" and there is dressing down. It does not have to be men's polo shirts long enough to be considered a dress and butt crack hugging jeans to emulate your favorite incarcerated hip-hop star.
Check out Dashiell Hammett circa 1938.
scan0022.jpg

He is wearing what looks to be a t-shirt w/slacks and looks very cool!