Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Any Fedora lovers from Asia?

ghostdog

New in Town
Hi everyone, I'm a total noob here at the Lounge but definitely a Fedora lover. Been one for all my life, but just purchased one only quite recently... and a big fan of gangster movies, film noir & 1940's americana.

And btw, I'm from Malaysia (it's errr directly above Singapore...:) ) We don't have a local hat wearing culture (and I mean real Hats, not baseball caps etc.)...& anyone who actually wears one is quickly labelled a cowboy (no matter what kind of hat they're wearing), so it's downright impossible here to get any fedora from an actual hat shop. So the only choice we have (or I have, coz I haven't met any other local fedora lovers...yet :) ) is to shop online, which is costly, especially delivery (considering our local exchange rate to the USD).

I just got myself a cheap starter hat from hatsinthebelfry.com so that I won't go crazy & keep imagining myself donning one in a b&w movie dream! :) At the time I didn't know about this forum and pretty much bought the fedora blind. Anyway I think it's sufficient enough to quench my Fedora loving thirst for the time being, & good enough to take b&w pictures with, like my avatar, and to hang round with my friends. Too insecure to wear it in public too much though! :p

I plan on getting more in the near future, and to keep on collecting them for as long as I can afford.... and probably to learn to wear them in public more. It's just that it's a costly lifestyle decision to wear hats, especially on my meager govt salary, and ordering them online and all, spending a really large part of the dough on delivering them all the way here alone is killing me.

Anyway, here are few questions: