Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

eBooks

Tux Toledo

One of the Regulars
I'll be the first to admit that I love "real" books. The look, the smell, the way they feel in your hands and the way they look stacked on bookshelves up to the ceiling. Yet, as an aspiring author I am coming to appreciate the way eBooks are opening up what has been a very closed market.

I wrote a series of short stories called "The Lovable Rogue Mysteries". I've been attempting to get them published for several years now. The literary agents who have read the book all comment on how good the writing is and how unique the characters are but they all reach the same conclusion: it's impossible to get a collection of short stories published in today's market.

Now along come eBooks such as Amazon's Kindle and Barnes & Nobel's Nook. I have published the "The Lovable Rogue Mysteries" for both of these platforms and have already gotten sales. eBooks promise to minimize the power of the middle-men and allow writers to sell their work directly to their readers. This, in my opinion, is good. However, it puts a burden on readers to sift through all of the books available to them and somehow determine which ones are worthy enough to buy and read. That's not so good.

How do you all think this eBook trend is going to play out? Personally, I hope it opens the market to talent that would otherwise be locked out but I also hope it becomes and adjunct to "real" books and doesn't completely replace them.

Pompidou

One Too Many