Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Favourite actor V Best actor (or actress!)

byronic

One of the Regulars
I'm just wondering what fellow loungers opinions are: It's generally taken that Laurence Olivier was the finest actor who ever lived- on this side of the pond anyway!-, and I love most of his movies- especially 'Rebecca', but he's not my favourite actor, nor do I think he is the best actor (I'm not an expert, I admit, and I'm not trying to start an argument!), I'm just giving my ill-informed opinion now , but I think the best actor ever was Michael Redgrave, subtle and understated but almost chameleon-like when he adopted a role.
Now this is where it gets complicated-though I think he's the greatest actor, he is not my favourite actor!
IMHO, i would have to give that award to John Mills, who I thought was vastly underrrated. He won an Oscar for 'Ryans Daughter', strange really because he was so heavily made-up that he did not need to act.
I loved his performance in 'Hobsons Choice', an early gem from David Lean, this was a role against type, where he played a poor Lancashire shoe-maker despite being almost completely typecast in 'Stiff-Upper-Lip-Brit-Roles' - like 'Scott of the Antarctic', or as a stuffy officer in 'Ice Cold in Alex', etc.
Anyway, what do other loungers think? In your opinions, who are the most neglected (or underrated actors)?

ukali1066

Practically Family
Hmmm....tricky one...

I think it depends on career choices.... Anthony Hopkins is one hell of an actor....he's done some forgettable films and some downright crap ones....but was he bad in any of them ? I think his role in Remains of the day is one of the most poignant and tragic things I've ever watched performance-wise.