Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Fedora Brim Shaping

bobkeenan

Familiar Face
I really like my new Stetson Runabout fur felt hat. I wear it in the classic front flipped down look.

But here is the question. About where the turned down portion starts, above the ears, it is a discontinuous curve (sorry I am a retired engineer). If I flip it all up, front, sides, and back you can see that the bottom of the brim is nicely curved all the way around. Except for about 1" long, flattened areas, again, around the ears.

I have been watching the videos and reading some posts. It seems like some use a steamer to fix the hat in a all up flip. then after its dry flip the brim down when you wear it. Flip it back up when not wearing it.

But I also found a thread where very good instructions were given to steam the brim, wear it, form it to the flip down the way you like it, let dry and you leave it like that.

So my questions are:

1: Which way is best?
2: What is a good technique to get a flatness of a cruved flipped up brim.
3. Should it be stored brim up or down if you wear it down..

Rogera

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I really like my new Stetson Runabout fur felt hat. I wear it in the classic front flipped down look.

But here is the question. About where the turned down portion starts, above the ears, it is a discontinuous curve (sorry I am a retired engineer). If I flip it all up, front, sides, and back you can see that the bottom of the brim is nicely curved all the way around. Except for about 1" long, flattened areas, again, around the ears.

I have been watching the videos and reading some posts. It seems like some use a steamer to fix the hat in a all up flip. then after its dry flip the brim down when you wear it. Flip it back up when not wearing it.