Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

first time & a little over excited

dit dah

One of the Regulars
Hi

I'm new to the Lounge, thought I'd say hello.

I'm into all things vintage, always have been, but have never mixed with like minded types, so the thought of a little kinship (or vinship) is warming indeed.

I'm bursting with questions, some of which may be eye rollers for you seasoned posters, but I promise not to mention the RAF Jumper ;). There seems to be a fantastic wealth of knowledge and I'm looking forward to picking a few brains.

In an blatant attempt to curry favour with a few of you old salts I'm living across the road from a Spitfire training base, still more or less intact, with triangular runway, control tower, and dozens of buildings. Am hoping to use one to house my vintage recording gear.

Delighted to be here.

Smithy

I'll Lock Up
Welcome dit dah.

I too would love to see some photos of the aerodrome if it's not too much of a bother.

dit dah

One of the Regulars
More than happy to do that. I was in fact thinking of doing a blog focusing on the sites, RAF Rednal. Some of it is trashed. A paintball company use the tower and have abused it :rage: The buildings are used by various businesses and grant money has just been alocated, although there is no heritage based programme. The whole place is about to be painted white :( . There are still some fabulous finds left, such as the defensive positions sitting in the fields around the runway which still have their machine gun brackets etc. The place is dripping in atmosphere.

I'll seek permission and get snapping at some stage soon.

Creeping Past

One Too Many
dit dah said:
Hi

I'm new to the Lounge, thought I'd say hello.