Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Getting a stain out of leather?

adamgottschalk

A-List Customer
I really love this vinage 1950s Schott brown leather jacket. It goes great with my brown Borsalino.

brownschott.jpg

I had the buttons changed.

schottpocket.jpg

Unfortunately, there's a pretty wicked blue/green/black stain right at the fold in the collar (some slight soiling on the pockets too). Luckily, it's not visible at all when I'm wearing the jacket. I've tried Kiwi saddle soad and Bick's #4, which cleaned it up some, but not as much as I'd like.

schottstain.jpg

Is there anything more I can do? I get the feeling I might have made it worse...? Any help appreciated.

Elmonteman

One of the Regulars
Leather Cleaner

Hey Adam, Not that I'm an expert but there is a product called "Pristine Clean" usually used in conjunction with "Leatherique" that you might check out. It's made in the US. I've used both products a few times with pretty good success even though I haven't followed some of the directions for achieving optimal results. If you are familiar with Aero Leather Clothing, they sell it and I know they use it along with the companion product. Here's the link: http://www.aeroleatherclothing.com/...?page=displayproduct&subcatid=162&prodid=1524

If you google "Leatherique" you can find a source a little closer to home. I mention Aero only because they know leather so I think it gives the product a little more credibility. Good Luck!

adamgottschalk

A-List Customer
Sun, great idea

Lincsong said:
Try putting it in direct sunlight for an hour or two then using leather cleaner.