Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Gray/Black/Charcoal Stingy Brim?

David Conwill

Call Me a Cab
I’m wearing browline glasses these days, and it’s put me in kind of an early-1960s frame of mind. I have a nice old Stetson in green with a 2- or 2.5-inch brim that I really like, but I could use something in a gray/black palate. Any suggestions? Thinking equivalent quality to my Akubra Federations.

Thanks!

tealseal

A-List Customer
I’m wearing browline glasses these days, and it’s put me in kind of an early-1960s frame of mind. I have a nice old Stetson in green with a 2- or 2.5-inch brim that I really like, but I could use something in a gray/black palate. Any suggestions? Thinking equivalent quality to my Akubra Federations.

Thanks!
I have no experience with either, but I'd take a look at the Hampton and Trilby on Hats Direct. I imagine that they would satisfy your requirements for a decent price.

tealseal

A-List Customer
Yes, I think either of those would do nicely. Whew, though, I guess the Australian Dollar has gone up a bit since I last purchased. Thank you, tealseal.
Glad I could help. Please post a review of any of those you get here!! I get a stingy brim twinge once in a while but am hesitant to commit (btw I don't consider the two inch brim of the Saxon a stingy brim).
Indeed the AUD exchange rate isn't as good as it once was. It was even better when I bought my Fed in November of 2011. However, for the quality of felt you get with Akubra, IMHO it's still worth it. Best of luck! And, to invoke a catchphrase,, "Pics or it didn't happen!" :D

jlee562

I'll Lock Up
I'd also suggest keeping an eye on ebay. I see a lot of stingys on there for good prices (at least in my size).

Also, hatsdirect has the Akubra Whippet in addition to the Hampton.

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member