Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Headwinds 37J1

Deacon211

One Too Many
Just a few quick shots of my new Headwinds 37J1 jacket.

Overall, a nice effort on a not very common jacket. Time from order to arrival was about a month. Jay is making these as he goes along I believe so mine was made for me in particular (i.e. it didn't come out of stock).

Leather: I went with the goatskin as I figured it'd be more durable. Capeskin was also available. The goat is supple and thin, replicating capeskin well I would think. I'm no expert on capeskin though. The weight is substantially lighter than any G-1 or A-2 I've ever seen just for reference sake.

Collar and cuffs: I guess Jay originally had poly and wool knits available but switched to all wool in the end. These are nice and substantial.

Fit: The original 48 I ordered was a bit snug in the chest. Jay offered to remake the jacket for me adding two inches to the chest and I believe was planning to add the same to all of the larger sizes in the future. I think that the two inches was primarily added to the front seam as the back still feels a bit close [EDIT: Be advised that I do tend towards a broad back so this may skew this opinion somewhat] and the pockets are a bit wider than the first jacket had them (and just a bit wider than I think would look optimum). I think my jacket was the first effort at this upsizing however. So I'm going to pass these notes on to Jay and I suspect he will continue to refine the pattern as he goes along.