Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hello all! Newbie here!

SirPandaEsq

New in Town
Hey everyone, I am a 28 year old banker and have been trying to notch my style up every year or so I've been with the bank. Began with K-Mart dress shirts, and now adorn french cuffs, boutonnieres, and a few hats! It is amazing, I always assumed I would have been 'over doing it' but found as long as I don't actually over do it, ie: Every accessory under the sun, I get plenty of compliments and my clients overall take me much more seriously.

I have a few questions for you lovely people, such as how to get rid of stains around the collar and cuff of my french cuffs from my apparently dirty desk, and a few questions on hats, however I will create separate threads or search your wonderful forum for the answers. Just wanted to say my hellos!

Mathematicus

A-List Customer
Welcome to the forum, I hope you will appreciate it.

Regarding your question, I can suggest the following procedure. Notice that I wear almost exclusively white shirts so I don't really know whether this works for coloured ones.

1) First, spot-treat the stains in your shirt with a spray stain-remover and rub thoroughly. This includes the collar and cuffs folds, armpits and whatever.

2) Place the so treated shirts in a large bucket and fill it with hot water

3) Once you have covered all the shirts, add a couple of spoons of some good stain remover powder. I don't know if this process may alter colours, actually.

4) Leave soaking at least a couple of hours, better overnight.

5) Place shirts in washing machine and wash normally. I was them at 40 C with normal detergent and conditioner. I don't tumble dry because I don't have the relevant machine and because it will wear the hell out of the fabric!