Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Jacket Review - Harley Davidson Basic Skins - 2001

AeroFan_07

I'll Lock Up
So this could be an unusual jacket review for this forum. It's my first attempt to give a review of a consumer product in any semi-formal manner. This product may not be to everyone's liking since it's attributed to a motorcycle company and is the assemetic/Buco/Perfecto design. However it's sure been a jacket I have enjoyed owning since brand new in 2001. Just so it's clear I don't want to sell it, I'll just give a story about owning this jacket. So here goes...

IMG_3813.JPG This Basic Skins jacket from 2001 was among the last Harley Branded jackets that was still made in USA, however of imported cowhide of unknown origin. As photos indicate, this is also one of the few newer HD jackets not covered with all kinds of patches, flames, or even "Harley Davidson" written all over it. It does have a small nickel label under the left hand warmer pocket and the snaps also have the name on them.

I was also drawn to this jacket by the simplified Perfecto style - no belt, no smaller snap-closure pocket, just a simple and timeless style along with thick, good quality cowhide with a satin lining. I had realized by this point that poly-filled or "thinsulate lined" jackets generally kept me too warm unless the lining was removable, so finding this jacket "un-lined" was great in my book. The best part: Price. In 2001 this was HD's least-expensive jacket at $235.00 list price. I actually found this one on clearance at $125.00 and picked it up at once, I had tried on several in stores before finding this one.