Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Making Vintage-Inspired Art

Nikki Darling

New in Town
Hello! I'm new to this lounge and new to vintage btw, but I am recently out of art college and have a BFA in Sequential Art. I've been pretty lost, artistically speaking, ever since college. I still draw cartoons, mainly cute animals, creature designs, or fashionable ladies. But I needed inspiration outside of comics (which was basically 80% of my major). Sooooo... I discovered vintage children books and their beautiful illustrations.

3963771664_9d9d020e83.jpg
The problem is, I know nothing about how these artists created their work! What paints did they use? How did they even print these detailed colored copies?! I remember being taught how there used to be basically a sweatshop full of older ladies just to color comics for print back in the day, so some of these older children's books just blow my mind.

I've tried using gouache paints like in Tigerbuttah. Aren't these the freakin' cutest illustrations ever?? But I just can't get the amount of control I want with it. Maybe I am using the wrong brushes? (PS, Seqa Art did NOT cover painting...)
2012-11-05-big-art-sale-today.png

I'm thinking maybe something like the one below would be using watercolor and inks, which would be much more fitted to the way I work. Of course, I could easily just whip up something like this digitally, but that seems so wrong. Creating vintage-inspired art with... a computer?! :p
3912674127_a507380199.jpg

Also, I love using colored pencils, and I admire Geneviene Godbout's artwork. It's cute, and seems vintagey and storybook like to me!
souris+int-21.jpg