Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

My new hats

Marcus Brody

Familiar Face
Hi, I'm a new poster here and relatively new reader. I'm a longtime Indy Gear vet (although I took nearly a 4 year hiatus) so I have heard of this site, but it didn't really apply 'til recently. I've been into fedoras since I was a kid. I grew up on Indiana Jones, Michael Jackson, The Shadow, Dick Tracy, James Bond (Sean Connery wore some in the earlier ones) and The Phantom of the Opera musical so fedoras have always interested me. I wore a really crappy one throughout elementary school.
classicderek.jpg

Try to ignore the colors in the after pics. I didn't redye the hats. My room just has awful lighting and I used a camera phone with lame white balance features, and then I did some auto color in photoshop which did a little good. The original picture made the hats look brown when they were gray :D.

My favorite has to be this brand new 7 1/8 Emerson homburg that came with its box, which I converted into a fedora (shock!) with some light ironing on the brim and a cold bash on the crown. Don't know about the brand or age. About a 2 3/4" brim all around. The crown is a tall one about 5 1/2" bashed.

As it was:
emersonoriginal.jpg

As it is:
emersonfedorafront.jpg

emersonfedoraside.jpg

Then I got this size 7 Barrister fedora, another brand I've never heard of. The ribbon didn't suit my taste in color or width (a little short). 2.5" snap brim all around. About a 5" crown bashed. It also hat a diamond crease, but I change it to a center dent.

As it was:
barristeroriginal.jpg

As it is:
barristerfront.jpg