Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Off White Lightweight Fur Fedora VS Classic Montecristi Fedora...Which is Cooler?

Drdan

Familiar Face
I've had numerous Montecristi Panamas over the years, and they are fantasttic summer hats. I'm just getting into felt hats, and a nice light colored felt fedora would be a very attractive hat for the summer. If I were to wear a lightweight 100% beaver "silver belly" felt fedora with ventillation holes of some sort (e.g. like Black Sheep Hat Works offers) on top of the crown, would the fedora be discernably hotter than the Panama? Would it help if the hat was ordered without a lining?

Thanks for your input!

rogerstg

A-List Customer
IME, felt is hotter than a panama, and lined felt is much hotter. Still, I wear a silverbelly fedora when temps are in the 70-80F range, (liner removed). IDK if pure beaver would be cooler. Maybe vent holes would help, though I've read that they make little difference.

Roger

Nyah

One of the Regulars
Felt hats are too hot for me in Summer. When the seasonal temps come into effect, I'll switch to the milans that I just recently started wearing. A milan is ventilated enough that I can remove it without fear of my hair looking matted down from sweat. I'm not sure if that's possible with the kind of hats that you currently wear but, for sure it's not possible with felt (unless, if you're in an arid, desert area, possibly).

APP Adrian

A-List Customer
I wear my FED IV Deluxe in Moonstone in 85F weather + 50% humidity with the liner still in. I just man it up. A hat is always cooler than going hatless. Never owned a straw, but based on what everyone else is saying on The Lounge, straw is cooler.

Rogera

My Mail is Forwarded Here