Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Question: Age of vintage Stetson?

TomS

One Too Many
Hi Folks:

I have been reading some of the posts on dating a vintage Stetson by looking at the liner. I'm thinking my hat is probaly from the 1950s, but I'm pretty much clueless on the subject! I was wondering if one fo the experts might be able to suggest a more accurate age?

I appreciate the help, thanks!

B/R,
Tom
DSC_2454.jpg

zetwal

I'll Lock Up
Even though I'm not an expert (far from it), I would say without hesitation that you are correct in your date. :)

carouselvic

I'll Lock Up
If it's American made, mid-fifties would not be far off. It looks like it might be Canadian, in which case all bets would be off.

Lefty

I'll Lock Up
carouselvic said:
If it's American made, mid-fifties would not be far off. It looks like it might be Canadian, in which case all bets would be off.

+1.
foil tag = early 40s/older or Canadian and who knows how old (I think)

Artie

Suspended
Here's one that's definitely 50's (got the receipt). Probably earlier 50's. When did they transition over to this logo? When would a Royal Stetson have been priced 7.50?
stetsonlogo001.jpg

stetsonreciept.jpg

ScottF

Call Me a Cab
carouselvic said:

Agreed - '50s Canadian. Features/liner look '50s, foil tag on a '50s hat means Canadian.

Artie

Suspended
Completely confused! That's why I posted mine, just to add to the confusion. A fractional size tag usually means earlier but the logo I think is mid-fifties at least and a price of 7.50 says I don't know what. I think there was a lot of overlap in the various logos and designs. Unfortunately no one in the hat business gave any consideration to all of us who would be trying to date these hats 60 or 70 years after they were made.

carouselvic

I'll Lock Up
zetwal said: