Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Smoking Jackets

Pyroxene

One of the Regulars
I was wondering if anyone knew of a place to get a smoking jacket. Most all the searches turn up costumes.

Is there a difference in say a sports coat and a smoking jacket? I guess velvet smoking jackets are more formal.

I was watching Mr. Blandings Builds his dreamhouse today and saw some really nice ones.

blandings3_smokingjacket.jpg

blandings4_smokingjacket.jpg

I have a tweed jacket that I am not too fond of that I am using right now. Any leads on makers that take jackets seriously would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Pyro.

PrettyBigGuy

A-List Customer
Originally posted by Pyroxene

Is there a difference in say a sports coat and a smoking jacket? I guess velvet smoking jackets are more formal.

I'm no expert, but sport coats and blazers are slightly less formal then suits. They can be worn with slacks that are not the same color so they are more versatile.
Smoking jackets are like silk robes but they are short like a suit jacket. They have a tie at the waste instead of buttons. They may have been worn while relaxing in an arm chair and smoking to keep the wearer warm and so their suit jacket didn't wrinkle.
Now I'll sit back while the Suit Forum moderators shoot holes in my theory!:)
PBG

havershaw

Practically Family
hmmmm...I always thought smoking jackets were the robe-type things. I'm guessing there's something else which is considered a smoking jacket, which is what you're looking for?

I got a robe-type 30s deco smoking jacket (only 1 pocket) on eBay for about $19. I lost quite a few others I bid on initially, but the one I got is my favorite. I lucked out.

Pyroxene

One of the Regulars