Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The Accursed "Boomerangers"

Miss Peach

One of the Regulars
With the way the economy is going, are there any other "boomerangers" out there (http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/22/nyregion/22singles.html) and how are you coping with it?

I have a bachelor's with two minors and was valedictorian of my college class. I I worked during graduate school and have a master's degree that took blood and sweat and tears to earn, both in cities away from home. And now I live at home. :) Although it has always been a trend (especially those 'bambinos!'), it does feel like such a revert-back situation to age 16 and "Well, how late are you going to be out tonight so I don't have to worry?"-ness.

I am extremely grateful that I DO have a place to go, don't get me wrong, and willing to do whatever it takes for that independence. But what a life! Any horror stories or thoughts on the matter?

Harp

I'll Lock Up
I left home at 17 and returned back in my early twenties after a war,
and some additional globe-trotting wanderlust; enrolled in college on
the GI Bill and tried to make the best of a recessionary economy.
It wasn't easy-at first-or ever for that matter, but I was blessed by
a wonderful family and the admittedly great feeling of being back home.
Nothing like home cooking and sisters with lots of single girlfriends. :)

davestlouis

Practically Family
I knew a family back in the 80s...they had 10 kids as I recall, and the father owned several apartment buildings. He would have a big high school graduation/moving party for each kid...he moved them out of his house, put them up in one of his apartments, with 90 days free rent. After the 90 day grace period, he expected them to be self-sufficient, and either start paying, or get out and find somewhere else to live.