Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Too Busy?

Dagwood

Practically Family
I went to a fundraiser last night. Some people told me that my outfit looked "too busy." What do you think?
b_164558.jpg

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
I think the shirt and jacket are fighting for subtleness and the tie and hanky are argueing for dominance.

The colors of the tie and hanky should be coordinated in some way or different enough that it doesn't make you worry about the contrast between the two. Maybe not too busy, though it could be better coordinated. I say replace the handkerchief with a white one and it will make it all better.

cgab1

One of the Regulars
I agree with Miss Bella, I think it's just the pocket square ( I'm no expert, though). Everything else is fine. It is a very nice suit.

cgab

Miss_Bella_Hell said:
I like the tie and shirt combo, but the pocket square / handkerchief looks out of place. Might just be the flash tho.

Dagwood

Practically Family
Thank you all for your feedback. I agree that the pocket square is the weak link.

Matt Deckard said:
I think the shirt and jacket are fighting for subtleness and the tie and hanky are arguing for dominance.

I find this a very interesting, and insightful, viewpoint M.D. Do you think there should only be 1 item of clothing that dominates?

metropd

One Too Many
I Completley agree 100% from the second I saw it, it is soley the pocket square other wise the ensemble is perfect. just go thith white linen. I would highly suggest don't put dotted ties with dotted pocket squares especially when the pocket square is not picking up the colors and pattters of your suit tie and shirts and equally distributing the presentation.

neyus

New in Town