Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Used My Fedora Today to Teach Writing

Jack Henry

New in Town
I am a high school English teacher and tomorrow my Sophomores are going to take their High School Exit Exams. (Our students typically do very well, and in case you are wondering, students take this test early in high school so that they have many chances to pass before they graduate).

On this test, there is an essay portion. My advice to them today was that if they can demonstrate the ability to properly form paragraphs in their writing and not simply write a block of text, that they will do fine. The test is not very demanding at all, and the vast majority of our Sophomores pass this test the first time around. Regardless, I wanted to briefly make a point about paragraph structure for them, so I continued to remind them that while writing a long block of text is bad, simply pretending to write paragraphs by occasionally indenting is only slightly better, though not by much. A careful essay grader will notice (as I often do while grading my own students' essays) that many poor writers indent simply because they think they need to after five or six sentences, regardless of whether or not they have properly moved onto a new subject. A paragraph is not complete after five or six sentences; it's complete when a particular idea has been more or less completely explained or argued, and it's time to move on to another idea, even this new idea is only slightly different.