Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Wheat Pennies 1909-1958

happyfilmluvguy

Call Me a Cab
Before the Lincoln Memorial was inserted into the back of the penny, they simply read, "ONE CENT"

I have three, the years 1934, 1946, and 1950.

During the second world war, copper was substituted with steel, known as Silver Pennies.

What years do you have?

Elaina

One Too Many
In high school I worked as a cashier for Kroger's. A lady came in one day and wanted to pay for her groceries in rolled pennies. Because the policy was I had to open and look at all the pennies, I did 3 rolls. They were young years and I asked "Hey are they all like this?" She replied she'd dug into her father's coin collection and they were various years and she was on her way to the bank to deposit about 50 bucks in pennies and dimes. I offered to buy them, without looking. I wound up within those roll all but like 10 years. If memory serves, all but like 5 rolls were wheat pennies, and they were rolled so that the years were together, and pretty well ran in order of the box. Her dad seemed to roll them, put them in this box starting at the beginning. I also got 3 rolls of liberty dimes. I have them sitting in a jar somewhere with some rubels I got as a tip before the USSR became just Russia, and some money I found in my great grandmother's purse back when she was a flapper (it's not much. It's a 1922 quarter, couple nickels and 3 one dollar bills. Allegedly she won it playing poker, because there is also an I.O.U. for $27 in it, but knowing her, who knows what that was for.)