Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

WW2 USAAF embossed wings

Cocker

Practically Family
Hello folks,

I was wondering if USAAF wings embossed on leather WITHOUT any name or rank indications were common in WW2? I'm still on the prowl for a B-10, love the look of the leather wings on them, but I'm not sure I'd like to put my name on display, so this could be one option.

Of course, pictures would be welcome!

TPD166

One Too Many
I am by no means an expert, and there are plenty on TFL who are, but I have seen very few wings on WW-II USAAF jackets. Most of those that I have seen were either pinned on or painted on.

TPD166

One Too Many
But there are examples of Army jackets with embossed wings, but these also appear to include the name and not just wings. Hope these help.

This is an ANJ-3 jacket that is on display at LAX.

Deacon211

One Too Many
Anyone can feel free to correct me if I am wrong, but I seem to recall at least a few pics of A-2s with embossed wings and no name.

I think that it was by no means common. But since you can see a fair amount of let's call it, "wartime latitude" during the A-2's heyday, I think you can reasonably put on a set of wings and not be completely out to lunch!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Deacon211

One Too Many
Just a few I found on Google with all sorts of variation

b9bb44a9428446d76f4a74932c43b24c.jpg

4fb109e5cc3fc85f36784e62b330b86b.jpg

7f6ce2adfcfe9d740fd3dce4362aa869.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Technonut

Practically Family