Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

An introduction

ALL*HeLL

New in Town
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and to fedoras but not to hat collecting.

Up until now I have collected historic helmets, reproduction Civil War kepis and slouch hats, Revolutionary War tricorns, and most recently, many western hats; both straw and felt, especially since I moved to the country last year and spend alot of time outdoors in my corn on the tractor ( A 1940 Ford 9N ). Being from Michigan though I felt kind of strange wearing western hats.

I have the usual ball caps of course but nothing beats a full brimmed hat for protection against the sun for my pale blue scottish skin-hehe.

I just picked up an Adam executive from Ebay and am definitely hooked on vintage hats and love the way they look on me. I can see this addiction becoming as bad as my other addiction, which is firearms. I already have three vintage fedoras ( besides the Adam; a Lock Co. and a Royal Deluxe Stetson ) and one Jaxon Iconoclast in fur ( very nice hat IMO ).

I also collect and restore old firearms, mostly from the two world wars but going back as far as the Revolutionary War.

Thunder21's posts on AR15.com are what finally inspired me to try fedoras, even though it should have been a a natural choice for me considering that I mostly watch movies from the golden age and mostly collect things from the 1940's and 1930's. I even just recently picked up a RCA K6 radio from 1940. I also only really listen to music from the swing era anymore to the embarrasment and horror of my old punkrock friends ( few they may be ) and my poor chidlren-haha. I'm 39 and will be 40 in February and have 3 teenage children, one boy and twin girls, btw.

Anyway, a thanks to Thunder and a Hi to all of you here.

I hope I can become a valuable member here. :)

Tim