Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Curling Irons

Audrey Horne

Practically Family
I'd like to start trying to do rolls and pin curls and I thought having a curling iron might be helpful. I'd love to hear any recommendations for which one to buy since there are so many on the market and I have no experience. High end, low end, anything would be appreciated. Thanks so much!

roots66

One of the Regulars
On the low end, the Conair Instant Heat models are swell. They do heat up quickly, they have a variable temperature dial, and it's very easy to wipe off styling product gunk from the ceramic surface.

But Hot Sticks curls last much, much longer.

ShooShooBaby

One Too Many
when i'm doing my hair, i usually use hot sticks AND a curing iron. i always end up with a few spots that need some perking up or rounding out, so i use the curling iron for that. I also sometimes use it for making little rolls and things, especially since my hair is so un-bendy i can't get the ends tucked in nicely without it!

roots66

One of the Regulars
ShooShooBaby said:
when i'm doing my hair, i usually use hot sticks AND a curing iron. i always end up with a few spots that need some perking up or rounding out, so i use the curling iron for that. I also sometimes use it for making little rolls and things, especially since my hair is so un-bendy i can't get the ends tucked in nicely without it!

Oh, same here...irons do come in handy for that, and for doing bangs as well, since it's typically an exercise in futility to try to wind them around a Stick. But again, pincurled or cold-roller bangs usually last longer on me--thank goodness they dry pretty quickly.