Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Explicit Sax advice needed!

Sefton

Call Me a Cab
Some guys hit mid-life and buy a red Porsche. That doesn't excite me and I couldn't afford one even if that was my dream. My dream which I'm trying to bring to reality is to learn to play the Alto Saxaphone. Would someone be willing to give this novice advice on what brand of Alto to buy and what to look for/what questions to ask about the sax. I've looked into the price of a new one and $1000 to $2000 is a little too steep right now so I'll be checking out used equipment and I don't want to end with something that dosent fit my needs as a total beginner. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

dostacos

Practically Family
Sefton said:
Some guys hit mid-life and buy a red Porsche. That doesn't excite me and I couldn't afford one even if that was my dream. My dream which I'm trying to bring to reality is to learn to play the Alto Saxaphone. Would someone be willing to give this novice advice on what brand of Alto to buy and what to look for/what questions to ask about the sax. I've looked into the price of a new one and $1000 to $2000 is a little too steep right now so I'll be checking out used equipment and I don't want to end with something that dosent fit my needs as a total beginner. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
a used student sax is one suggestion. the school band stores take back lots of instruments at the end of the school year for kids that don't want to play anymore.

you can also find used saxophones at pawn shops, that is where I got my naked lady tenor sax. you will probably have to have the sax re-padded {the pads are leather and need to be replaced from time to time} I am not any good on the thing but I try.

Sertsa

One of the Regulars