Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Feedback Etiquette?

23SkidooWithYou

Practically Family
I'm new to vintage so I'm bound to make some errors in judgement. If I goof on size or era or take a nose dive on condition, I take full responsibility and would never, and have never allowed it to color my seller feedback (which to this point has always been 100% positive).

Well, I just opened a package and I'm not thrilled. I purchased what was described as a 1950's dress in good condition. I'm no expert so I'm not challenging the era determination, nor am I challenging the condition. What I do have some concerns with is that the material is a sort a brushed, stretchy knit fabric. This was not revealed in the description, no fabric description was given. I hold myself accountable for not asking in advance (but do feel the seller could have volunteered that info).

My issue is that they stated that the dress was "priced to move and wouldn't last so grab it fast". Is it me, or does that not imply to most reasonable people some sort of value for the price relationship? Honestly, for this fabric (which is giving me a creepy 80's feel) I wouldn't have paid one cent more than I did, so I feel the sellers comment was misleading. Truthfully, had I known it was a stretch knit, I wouldn't have purchased it at all (and certainly not for what I did pay) but again, that's on me for not asking. (live and learn)