Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Filson Tin Cloth Hat and Stretching

Beowulf

New in Town
Hello,

I am new to the forum. After searching for hat information this group was mentioned many times. I have what is probably a rather simple fix, but seeing as how I am a novice in hat knowledge, I was hoping for some guidance.

As a gift I received a Filson Tin Cloth hat, size Med. It is ever so close to fitting, but would prefer just a little more room. The Large would be gigantic on me. How should I go about trying to enlarge the size? I don't know of any shops local to Boulder, CO that can stretch hats, but I'm sure they are out there.

Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

Goose.

Practically Family
Beowulf...

Have to reply...being a guy that worked a mile from the turkey processing plant in Longmont and lived at the Harvest House Boulder for almost two years. Oh, and I have an oilcloth "Packers" (two actually).

Not Filson. but oilcloth nonetheless. Get a stretcher. You can get them in price range from a couple of pesos to close to a hundred.

ANYWAY, get that hat soaking wet. Not the same advice for felt in reagard to the "soaking". If you have to stretch an oilcoth to the point of tearing, then you messed up in the original procurement by getting one way too small. Pop it on the stretcher over night at room temp. There ya go :)

Your mileage may vary. Objects in mirror are closer than they apprear. Don't run with scissors. Eat your vegetables.

http://www.trailspace.com/gear/filson/tin-cloth-packer-hat/

458418778_i2rxb-S.jpg

And, welcome!!!!

Inusuit

A-List Customer
Greeley Hat Company...