Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

From Brooks Bros.: "Dress Like Draper!"

Guttersnipe

One Too Many
habberdasher said:
Because it's got the mad men logo, it makes you want to buy it above other identical, cheaper suits.

Well, yes that's the point of marketing, and in that there's something beautiful (I like the idea about marketing aimed at people love of a show about marketing). And you're right, it does work. My visceral reaction was that I'd buy that suit!

What meant is, if you want that look, the authentic vintage can be found at something like a tenth the price. Case in point, what I call my "Roger Sterling" Suit: mint condition, dated 1964, Brooks Brothers, 3 button, 3-piece, and almost identical to one seen on screen. I bought it on e-Bay for $76.00.

Maguire

Practically Family
I may sound a bit novice here but while its certainly a nice suit, it looks like your run of the mill two button suit, i see suits like this (albeit probably poorer quality ) every day. If you're going to spend anywhere near 1 k for a suit, it better look every penny of it.

Maguire said:
I may sound a bit novice here but while its certainly a nice suit, it looks like your run of the mill two button suit, i see suits like this (albeit probably poorer quality ) every day. If you're going to spend anywhere near 1 k for a suit, it better look every penny of it.

Agreed.

MrBern

I'll Lock Up
She says its a bit trimmer than the average BB suit.
I wish she had used a more retro lapel. Seems more like a suit for a background extra than one of the leads.

I suspect they are testing the waters to replace ThomBrowne with JanieBryant as the contracted designer for BlackFleece.

I think its funny that its a 2 button, when I tend to see more 3 button on the show.
Compare this shot of Draper to the shot of the debut suit