Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Grey bowler hat

Enig

New in Town
Hi! This is my first post here, have been looking around on this forum the last couple of days, looking for info, and I felt this was the right place to ask.

I have for a long time felt that the bowler hat was "my" hat type, I really like how they look on me. But haven't got around to getting a proper fur felt yet, I have only had a worn wool felt, which really isn't suited to other purposes than when I want to dress up up like a bum :p

I feel a dark gray colour would be my first choice at this point. I'm a student, and money is scarce, so I have tried finding some at a nice price, but it's not easy.

The most affordable ones I've found are these two:

A Lagomarsino:
http://www.hatguys.com/onlineStore.cfm?storeAction=_view&prodID=206&srow=na

and on this site they have the Biltmore derby and some other, cheaper unnamed brand:
http://www.hatalog.com/MensDressFeltsFurFelts.htm

Have any of you experiences with these sites/brands? I have been looking around this forum lately, and I found something about the Lagomarsino having problems with the shapes and trimmings, but I think that was about another hat style, so if anyone would like to elaborate on this, it would be much appreciated.

I sent an e-mail to the adress on the second link I posted, asking for pictures and info on the unnamed brand. Got no answer.

Any info would be appreciated, some pics would be useful too, if you have :)

And how rare is it to find vintage gray bowlers on ebay? I'm a size 59cm (7 3/8)

Cheers
Enig

Dreispitz

One Too Many
Enig said:
Hi! This is my first post here, have been looking around on this forum the last couple of days, looking for info, and I felt this was the right place to ask.