Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hallo! Hat Help?

cjw314

New in Town
(Couldn't resist...)

Greetings gents! Lurker turned poster Chris here; I hope your Thursday is going well.

I'm looking to buy a men's hat for winter this year, and am considering a few styles. I'm fairly new to the idea, owning a single lightweight synthetic hat I use solely for camping/hiking.

So, I've spent a couple of weeks lurking, researching, reading, etc, and am consistently confused as to where to start. Sure, I can go to the mall and buy a stingy paper fedora (-and if I were going to buy a stingy brim fedora, it'd likely not be paper...), but that's not really what I have in mind. I'm also not as fortunate as some who have access to an actual hat store, so I've been trying a few on via Photoshop... :grin:

I'm still looking for confidence in my style choices; am I actually the fortunate owner of a nondescript, ovular shaped head and free to comfortably wear most any type of hat that... fits? Every 'safe' choice seems to be so tall - and at 6'3", I was assuming I wanted something that doesn't necessarily add to that as I imagine a 5" crown would...

That all being said, do you have any particular styles you'd recommend for a 'first
hat'? Thanks for your reading time. : )

Obligatory reference photo:

leML4.png

---
Sincerely,
Chris

Last edited:

Neophyte

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Could you describe your everyday clothing choices, preferred colors, and intended usage for a hat (formal, casual, outdoors, etc.)?

A hat is an accessory and complements your personal style. If you can tell us more about your style, we can get a better idea of what kinds of hats would top it off.

Ah, and welcome to the Lounge!

Welcome Chris.