Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hot water soalked/dryed new ELC PH

416rigby

New in Town
Now before the screams or cheers let me say----
I am an Old Soldier, dealing with Agent Orange (dioxin) caused cancer----- not lookin' for sympathy, hell no!, just establishing my station in life hahahahahah

I purchased a super, just as advertised, "pre owned/new" ELC PH A2 size 46 from a member here. It was a bit blousy and since I had washed a "stinky" house ELC with super results (cold water, Woolite, air dry) I deceided to enter the "forbidden zone"

Solaked the jacket in a tub of, as hot as it comes out hot tap, water till it was fully wet and chamois soft. Gentely squeezed out the bulk of the water. Put it with a huge terry towell in a large home dryer on high. Checked often for 15 min. At 15 min the outside was most part dry but not hot. Turned inside out, back in with a dry towel for 5 min. Lining and knits dry but not hot. Right side out for 2 min to get it used to being that way hahahah.
Hung it outside on a huge shouldered hanger in shade at about 75 F and windy. Checked inside sleves often and felt cool like they were still drying. At about 6 hours all dry!

So-- the only mesurment I took was pit to pit and it came down an honest carefully measured 3/4", the surface was less shiny and showed alot more "grain" (subjective I know) The knitts showed no effect. Overall, wearing it over a light sweater with just 6 hours between trials it felt alot (subjective) trimer, wife said it looked much better also.