Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

is it wrong to mix up the styles?

Detective_Noir

One of the Regulars
i recently have to get slim fit suits now due to the "New Era" of today style. and i wear a wide brim fedora on a slim fitted suit but it still has the wide lapels on it to pull off a wider brimmed fedora. people and friends say its kinda cool to mix up a modern look with the suit and have that unique golden era look as well in addition to it.

MikeBravo

One Too Many
If what you wear reflects your personal style (and doesn't break too many rules) then go for it. If you feel comfortable dressed that way, then it's all good in my book :)

I don't feel it is about the era, but the fit and how it feels

Red Leader

One of the Regulars
I've been at this gig for less than a year so I am by no means an expert, but from my casual observation - my vintage suits (1940s) are much more fitted to me that a lot of more modern boxy and baggy type suits. I would very much prefer a slim fitting suit if it works with the body type than a suit with lots of bag and drape. I think a part of it too is the fabrics - they don't hang the same way the old ones do.

I recently saw an suit and and it depicted a lot of slim fitting suits with thin lapels, harking back to the 1960s, which to me, isn't bad. I heard someone else mention that some older styles may be returning and hope that trend continues down the decades.