Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Japanese Flight Jackets

volleykinginnc

Familiar Face
I'm rather new to the whole vintage jacket thing but reading, looking and drooling I've noticed that there are fine examples of German, English and American flight jackets but I couldn't find a single Japanese one. Why is that or are they just less desirable so everyone just throws them away?

I think you'll find folks here are interested in just about anything. Maybe not much of a market for them, or maybe there isn't much known about them.
Certainly interested in seeing anything that comes up here. :)

Treetopflyer

Practically Family
I would agree with Metraton. All photos I have seen with Japanese pilots, they are wearing an insulated one piece flight suit in cold weather. That is WWII and before. As for current issue, I think they wear the same gear that we do. I have seen Japanese P-3 pilots wearing current issue G-1s.

Stearmen

I'll Lock Up
Summer Jacket

They did have a light weight Gaberdine jacket for summer flying. Unfortunately, I can not find a large photo of one!

cuthbert

One of the Regulars
I think that in the case of the Regia Aeronautica and the flying services of the Imperial Army and Imperial Navy the problem is the lack of documentation and surviving gear...I wouldn't be surprised to see that naval aviators wore different suits and jackets, the Army and the Navy were two separate entities very jealous of their independence, according to Pappy Boyngton and Saburo Sakai.

Italian-wiseguy

One of the Regulars