Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Peacoat Question

Hux

New in Town
Hey everyone! New guy here. Hope to take part in some fun discussions soon, but I wanted to start with a simple question. Kind of a silly one, but it's important.

Despite my love of vintage wear and style, I'm the kind of man that thinks wearing pants and a shirt makes a "matching" outfit. In other words I'm not very good at matching stuff. I've been wanting to get a nice classic navy peacoat, like my grandfather had in the service. But my hats are black and brown. Would the black hat clash with the navy peacoat? Should I just get a black peacoat?

Thanks for the help

Seb Lucas

I'll Lock Up
Everyone will have a different view, there are strong emotions about color matching. Mine is that matching dress items often looks a little bit twee and anal. And what is matching anyway? Blues with blues and blacks with blacks don't always match as they can be totally different shades. Black or brown with navy blue go fine. My view is wear what you want and decide for yourself what works. If you have to ask others if it is permissible, it probably isn't a thing. :D

Last edited:

Spoonbelly

One of the Regulars
Hey everyone! New guy here. Hope to take part in some fun discussions soon, but I wanted to start with a simple question. Kind of a silly one, but it's important.

Despite my love of vintage wear and style, I'm the kind of man that thinks wearing pants and a shirt makes a "matching" outfit. In other words I'm not very good at matching stuff. I've been wanting to get a nice classic navy peacoat, like my grandfather had in the service. But my hats are black and brown. Would the black hat clash with the navy peacoat? Should I just get a black peacoat?

Thanks for the help