Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Sources of Irvin trousers?

GHarris

New in Town
Hi folks,

New member here. I recently became the proud owner of an Irvin jacket (pictured) which I'm very happy with. The colour, the fit, and the quality are just what I wanted.

DSC07214-ps-sm.jpg

DSC07198-ps-sm.jpg

There's nothing wrong with buying an Irvin simply because I liked it, but I had a fairly eccentric side-role for it in mind too.

I'm an amateur astronomer. Folks joke that I don't feel the cold as much as the average person... but several hours spent stationary, outside on a frosty night, looking through a telescope eyepiece will drain the energy out of anyone. Sitting, inactive, in cold conditions is perhaps the one thing I have in common with a WW2 aviator! There are less nutty ways of keeping warm whilst stargazing but I'm pretty shamelessly eccentric and I'd like to try using a full Irvin suit, adding a set of trousers to go with the jacket.

I got my jacket from Aero (latewar model, size 42) and I'm delighted with it. But they don't make the trousers. And very few other people do.

So far the limited options I've been able to find are:

Aviation Leathercraft - I don't like their take on the Irvin jacket much but the trousers, though not authentic, might suffice... with one snag. They only come in one colour. I asked - they don't offer anything but the pictured shade, which looks a little more on the "seal" side than the russet of my Aero jacket. (link: https://www.flying-jacket.com/media/1112/irvin-trousers-2-1.jpg)

Eastman - well, not Irvin trousers, but they make American A-3 trousers. Not a perfect match either and the pockets might be in a less useful place. (link: http://www.eastmanleather.com/images/product_splashes/A-3trouserslarge.jpg)