Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The (mis)adventures of an amateur alterationist

Choeki

Familiar Face
I've been practicing the skill of sewing for some time now - practically since kindergarten - and have been working my way up to making my own clothing. However, there are a few mysteries of construction that I have decided that I cannot solve without deconstruction of existing works and some hands-on experimentation. Unfortunately, since I have no sewing machine (nor knowledge of how to use one) I have to sew everything by hand. I've gotten rather quick on the routine things though (the saying "with enough thrust even a brick can fly" comes to mind...), so I imagine it can't be too difficult to develop new skills as long as I can afford the luxury of making mistakes. So meet my project suit jacket to be:

green001.jpg

This is a modern U.S. Army "Class A" 44L jacket I purchased from an eBay lot of 6 for around $10 USD a piece about 4 years ago or so. I originally purchased them to convert to Ground Self-defense Force uniforms for sale in Japan, but I ran out of time and gumption on the issue so they sat around for a bit collecting dust. However, once I began my job as a professional teacher I was in dire need of a large quantity of suits so I converted one of them in an early attempt to make a civilian suit out of it:

green002.jpg

Which resulted in the above. I simply stripped all the pockets off, along with the epaulets and military buttons. Then I replaced the buttons with a set of generic plastic ones and made a fake breast pocket:

green003.jpg

I used it for a while just like this until I managed to lose enough weight to buy off the rack at the local department stores and relegated it to the back of the closet.