Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The Sporting Life?

Doublegun

Practically Family
A newbie here. In fact, I just found this site and have spent far too much time this afternoon reading posts.

Like all of you I have a special place in my heart for days gone by and all that went with them. Of special interest to me is the sporting life of the 30's and 40's when it was socially acceptable to hunt and fish. Men wore ties, jackets and fedora's, carried old side-by-side shotguns made by Parker, LC Smith, Fox or Winchester and hunted behind beautiful English Setters or English Pointers. Spring and Summer afternoons were spent flyfishing with bamboo rods made by Payne, Leonard, Dickerson or Paul Young on rivers in New England, the upper Midwest, West and Pacific Northwest. These were times when the emphasis was on enjoyment of the sport and not on the weight of the game bag or creel. This I learned from my father and appreciate today, more than ever.

Is there anyone else out there who carries their passion for "vintage" to the field?

"Doublegun"

Tomasso

Incurably Addicted
Doublegun said:
Men wore ties, jackets and fedora's, carried old side-by-side shotguns made by Parker, LC Smith, Fox or Winchester and hunted behind beautiful English Setters or English Pointers.
Hunting_mystery_1_500RB.jpg

"Skeet" McD

Practically Family
Welcome, brother Sport!

Doublegun said:
A newbie here. In fact, I just found this site and have spent far too much time this afternoon reading posts....Is there anyone else out there who carries their passion for "vintage" to the field?

"Doublegun"

Dear Doublegun,