Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What is this Palm Beach jacket...

Warbaby

One Too Many
I found this nifty Palm Beach jacket today at one of the local thrift stores. It's a style I'm not familiar with - where does one wear a jacket like this and what sort of trousers would be appropriate with it?

PBjacket1.jpg

The right shoulder looks a bit lumpy because the shoulder pad has come loose and is all bunched up.

PBjacket2.jpg

Nice buttons.

PBjacket3.jpg

Jay

Practically Family
A tuxedo jacket of some kind? Not sure when it's from, though. I lack the keen eye of some of our fellow loungers. In person, yeah, but photos, I'm not good with. Some black tux pants would work with it I'd say.

Wolfmanjack

Practically Family
Narrow lapels and boxy shape identify it as an early '60s dinner jacket. Wear it with a black bow tie and black formal trousers to a 'black tie' event on a hot summer evening.

surely

A-List Customer
That sounds good Wolfmanjack, but it looks like a lawn bowling or cricket jacket, inho. I would get a pair of pants made out of the same kind of material & color, if possible, & with a black belt.

Jovan

Suspended
I'm pretty sure it's a dinner jacket as well. Shawl lapels are rarely seen outside of formal wear, but I have seen them on vintage tweeds. The effect was not good.

I'd have that shoulder fixed (any competent alterations tailor should be able to do it), bring out your favourite black dinner trousers, and wear it with pride to the next formal event.

Warbaby

One Too Many
Many thanks to all of you for the info and opinions. I like the jacket a lot and it fits me perfectly, so I'm going to give it a bath and have the shoulder pads replaced. Since it was a find on the final sale rack at the local thrift shop for $0.99, I can justify putting a few bucks into restoring it.