Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What to wear with a fedora....

jcw122

New in Town
Hi everyone,

I'm a college student trying to not fit into the typical college look. I love fedoras, but going to a party and walking around campus in a full suit doesn't appeal to me. I have found that matching summer clothing with straw fedoras is relatively easy and looks decent, but I'm struggling to come up with ideas for winter/cold clothing + fedoras.

Does anyone have any basic ideas on what modern clothing I can wear with a wool fedora that won't look silly? In addition, shoe suggestions would also be great, I'm struggling with that as well. I really don't have a very good eye for style, but I'm eager to learn.

I'm horrible at visualizing outfits, so I would really appreciate the help. Thanks.

-Jon

Geesie

Practically Family
I probably don't need to say this, but no t shirts.

Corduroy or tweed blazer, wool or corduroy pants, if you want modern footwear there are the Doc Martens or similar shoes. Trench coat, but be sure to have proper trousers and collared shirt under it or you'll look like a stereotypical WoW/Unix/RPG geek.

Guttersnipe

One Too Many
I agree with AlanC, both those threads are great places to start. But also, look at old pictures to get ideas. Something that a lot of folks on here forget is that fedoras weren't - per se - a dress item back in the day. They go great with leather jackets, pea coats, mechanic's jackets, etc.

avedwards

Call Me a Cab
When I'm feeling like dressing casually (once every so often) I wear a light blue or grey long-sleeved shirt and blue jeans with a grey fedora and black wool blazer and blue pocket square. Leather jacket with khakis is also a good idea, though be prepared for some Indy comments unless your jacket and/or hat are not brown.