Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What's Wrong with This Picture?

Flitcraft

One Too Many
th_McQueenMoviePhoto.jpg

On the thread about the "Steve McQueen Great Escape Jacket" some posters mentioned that McQueen's outfit in this film was inaccurate because of the blue sweatshirt and "stovepipe" trousers. I'm not an expert on WWII uniforms, so I don't know, but why is McQueen's outfit inaccurate?

What are "stovepipe" trousers? Are they not authentic to the time period?
Would McQueen's character be more correctly attired in an Army fliers uniform?
What kind of boots is he wearing? Are they accurate?

After I read the comments in the other thread, I went back and watched "The Great Escape" and in the bonus section, there was an interview with James Coburn and he commented on how inaacurate McQueen's outfit was, but he didn't elaborate.

If the outfit is inaccurate, why are people interested in copying it?

MDFrench

A-List Customer
I would expect people are interested in copying it much like people who copy Indiana Jones' outfit or Darth Vader's or any other movie or comic character. Despite its inaccuracies to history, McQueen's character in The Great Escape has become iconic and people want to emulate that.

Rocketeer anyone? Not exactly "accurate" in many respects, but highly replicated all the same.

Mike

Sefton

Call Me a Cab
"Stovepipe" trousers have very narrow legs,very trim in appearance. This is in keeping with the style that was popular in the 60s. Trousers of the WWII era would likely have been rather full in the leg and seat with a high waist. People want to copy this look because,well...McQueen is the king of cool! ;)

Flitcraft

One Too Many
O.K.- Now I see. Its a little more obvious in the movie because you see him standing next to other characters in costume.