Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A introduction, a score and a few questions/issues

obie

New in Town
Dropping by to say hello. I have been lurking on this forum for a few months, after finding myself becoming interested in hats, especially nice fedora's, etc. After trying on a cheapie J Crew hat and not liking it, I started to search this forum for a local hat retailer in the Philadelphia area, wanting to try on and buy one first before treading the dark and sometime murky waters of the internet, ebay and Craigslist.

I ended up stopping by South Street hats in Philadelphia and came home with a pork pie hat (a style I like since I am a guitarist born and raised on the blues)...

IMG_9102.jpg

IMG_9103.jpg

After I got it home, I liked it, but haven't had an opportunity to wear it out, as it has been 90 plus degrees every day that I would have had a chance to wear it. I then started to read more about the various hat brands out there and while the pork pie is nice, it is from a relatively unknown company, and probably not the greatest deal out there, but I was able to try some on and figure out my hat size, 7 3/8.

More reading of the forums allowed me to see that with few exceptions (Optimo, etc) current offerings are not of the same quality as vintage hats, especially the Stetson hats that I was drawn to for various reasons. This lead me to start trolling eBay, and winning a nice brown Royal Stetson...

IMG_9104.jpg

IMG_9105.jpg