Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A2 Help please -- Goodwear, D.D. and more!

OliverTwist

New in Town
I'm new to custom flight jackets, but a friend of mine who resides in Italy sent me a text several weeks ago with pictures of a motorcycle jacket that he had made by Diamond Dave and mentioned that he came recommended via this forum. I visited his website and decided on a combat finish horsehide Aero model W535ac21996 repro and I eagerly pulled the trigger on it last night.

As I woke up this morning and excitedly began searching the forum for photos of similar flight jackets and comments re. construction, fit, etc., I began to dig up lots of critical posts about custom leather jackets that Dave had made for numerous people on the board; issues related to fit, incorrect measurements, sloppy detailing, etc.

I also got hip to Goodwear. I'm flipping through their website right now and I'm admittedly somewhat overwhelmed by all of the different models and styles of WWII-era A2s available. I'm concerned about my purchase with Dave. I'm not sure whether to see it through or to apologize for jumping the gun and transition to Goodwear instead. I take it that the cost difference for a horsehide jacket is roughly $500 between both makers. That's not a deal-breaker for me.

While I'm typically compulsive about detail, I'm not entirely versed in old military stock flight jackets. I am after a genuine-looking reproduction however, and I am definitely a stickler when it comes to fit.