Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

An Open Letter to Matt Deckard

Marc Chevalier

Gone Home

Dear Matt,

I’m writing this letter to address a largely unfulfilled desire: mine, the Fedora Lounge’s, and yours as well.

Over time, we’ve seen a handful of Loungers take the plunge and produce merchandise aimed at “folks like us,” those who appreciate Golden Era quality and design. I applaud their moxie. Not having seen the wares in person, I can’t judge them fairly. However …

Several days ago, you paid a visit to my neck of the woods (and dazzled my 8 month-old daughter, but that’s another story). You wore a new suit that was made for your own custom clothing label: “Matt Deckard Apparel.” And all I can say is …

WOW. Just WOW.

Now, I’m an amateur. I’m no Manton. I’ve written no books on suits. Nonetheless, I’m a pretty experienced dilettante: some spectacular vintage Savile Row bespoke suits have passed through my hands, not to mention several $6,000+ outfits made by Raphael Raffaelli, one of NYC’s top three bespoke tailors. I’ve examined these suits minutely before selling them off to others. In 20 years of high-end vintage menswear collecting, then, I’ve learned a thing or two about the best of the best. And that’s where your suit comes in.