Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

First Hat?

Queue

Familiar Face
I'm a graduate student so I'm on a very (very, very) limited budget and so I'm trying to find an inexpensive starter fedora. I'm curious how important y'all think exact hat sizes are. I found a cheap ($40) fedora at hatsinthebelfry (here) but it is sized S, M, L, XL. There are other fedoras but they all manifest the same "problem."

Many thanks!

Get a string & wrap it around your head where a hat would sit & find how long that string is. You're in grad school & I remember all kinds of measuring devices around when I was in grad school. On that web site is a how to size tab with inches to hat size. Treat it like a school assignment, solve the problem, get your hat size...

bolthead

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Check here.........

Queue said:
A fine question to which I sadly do not have an answer. Off the cuff I would guess, to use those general sizes, large. I do not, however, have anything to measure my exact size.
Try this Link. If you don't have a cloth tape measure, you can us a piece of string, mark it, then measure the string with a ruler. [huh]

Queue

Familiar Face
My head is measuring between 22 1/4 and 22 1/2 inches which would be a hat size of 7 1/4 (or large) since I'm supposed to round up.

I wasn't just being lazy (well to an extent I suppose I was) but I used some spare wires, a random ribbon my girlfriend seems to have forgotten on my floor and a shoe lace which all presented unique challenges. But I think the mean is the above.

Is my size important in figuring out whether or not generalized sizing is ok?

Queue said:
...Is my size important in figuring out whether or not generalized sizing is ok?