Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Franklin Automobile

cwdubya

New in Town
I haven't posted very much to this board, just lurked mainly, but I've been mulling over the idea about getting a vintage automobile from the 1920s-early 30s time period. I found a (seemlingly) good deal on a Franklin sedan from 1924. The plusses- price, and the style- the hood and front end are gorgeous... very distinctive. There's no restoration that really needs to be done, and it runs. Of course there's always more you could do if you wanted it to win shows. I'm sure that it will need to be tuned and worked over to keep it running reliably, regularly. However, I'm a complete rookie. I don't want it to seem like I've got more money than brains, because it's definitely in the same bracket that a Ford Model A is in price, so it's not really that outrageous in price. It could be very well like owning a sailboat- the first and last day are the best days of ownership, so in that way someone could blame me for having a lack of brains :p I figured I'd come to the forum to ask what general knowledge people might have about Franklins, and Model A's. Should I 'start out' with something simpler like a Ford where there's a big support system for it in the form of forums, clubs, and parts to save myself heartache, or should I get something more rare that appeals to me more personally? The Franklin was an expensive car in its day, far more than a Model A, but that could very well mean that replacement parts are either non-existent or ultra- expensive. Just trying to do more planning so I can hopefully minimize headaches and or disaster after the fact. Any advice or help is very welcome, thanks in advance! Also if I should post this in the big thread about automobiles I can do that too, I just didn't want to hijack it.

Clayton