Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Garage Sale Find: 1970's AMF Harley Davdison Leather Jacket!

MissoulaGriz

New in Town
Howdy...I've been a "lurker" here for a while but thought I'd post a recent find. I don't spend much time in antique stores or at garage sales but when I find myself at those places the first thing I always look for is a nice vintage leather jacket. I've been doing this for about 25 years and up until this point had never found the "perfect" one. Well, the other weekend we were driving by a garage sale so we decided to stop and poke around. Sitting on a rack with a bunch of other jackets was this 1970's AMF Harley jacket. I couldn't believe it because it was in perfect condition. No rips, tears and all zippers in perfect working condition. I tried it on and it was just a smidge too large. It's a 46R and I'm a 43R chest but I think the vintage sizing of this jacket is more in tune with a modern medium. I asked the guy what he was asking and he told me the price. Let's just say it took me a nanosecond to hand over the cash. It was a steal.

I got the jacket home and decided that I needed it to shrink up a little bit, mostly in the arms and a little in the length (the jacket came down to just below the bottom of my belt). I soaked the jacket with a garden hose (hey, I'm in Montana, that's how we roll) and then put it in the dryer on "gentle heat" for 10 minutes. I took the jacket out and voila, perfect fit. Not "model tight" but "Montana tight" which means I can still put a sweater on under it and I don't feel like I'm being pressed into a sausage.